Helen Brothers Spirit Award

About Helen Brothers

In 2002, Dora Brandt announced that the Chapter was establishing a new award, the Helen Brothers Spirit Award, to be given each year to a member who exhibited Helen's love of golf. Helen loved to play golf, and always had a smile and a cheerful outlook, whether she hit a perfect long drive down the middle of the fairway, or shanked it into the water. In August of 2002, Helen suffered a stroke or heart attack, the doctors aren't sure which, and she passed away in 2004.   

Once Helen’s daughters were grown and she took up golf, she would mark golf dates on her calendar and everyone in the family knew that she was not available to babysit grandchildren or attend birthday parties or anything else on those days!  

Helen had a challenge which most of us do not have.  One of her legs was a good two inches shorter than the other so she had to wear special shoes.  This never affected her spirit, her love of golf or her desire to play golf.  She was a great example for all of us and everyone loved playing with Helen.


Helen Brothers Award Winners:

2002 – Susie Watterson

2003 – Cherry Smith

2004 – Karen Smitherman

2005 – Dora Brandt

2006 – Nancy Hess

2007 – Debbie Ramseur

2008 – Terri Henderson

2009 – Sylvia Sumners

2010 – Bettye Anne Shratter

2011 – Carol White

2012 – Jane McGriff    

2013 – Vicki Changet

2014 -- Carolyn King

2015 -- Bobbie Markham

2016 -- Kim Jones

2017 - Nancy Brooks